TECHNICAL SESSIONS 535

TECHNICAL SESSIONS

MONDAY MORNING, 24 OCTOBER, 2005

The 30th Annual Meeting of the International Plant Propagators' Society – Southern Region of North America convened at 7:45 AM at the Hilton/University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, Florida, with President Bill Turk presiding.

PRESIDENT BILL TURK

President Turk welcomed everyone to Gainesville, Florida, for the 30th Annual Meeting of the International Plant Propagators' Society — Southern Region of North America. He thanked Local Site Committee Chair Alan Shapiro and his committee for the long hours in arranging the excellent tours, hotel, conference arrangements, other planning activities, and all their attention to detail. He encouraged all students, new members, and perspective new members to attend the 1st annual reception prior to the banquet and auction, so they could catch the uniqueness and spirit of the I.P.P.S. that makes it special — "to seek and share." Turk also encouraged all members to make new members and attendees feel welcome — share with them and seek from them. He also thanked Program Chair and 1st Vice-President Bob Smart for the excellent program and slate of speakers.

LOCAL SITE COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN ALAN SHAPIRO

Chairman Shapiro welcomed everyone to Gainesville. He mentioned that he and his committee had been planning for this meeting for the past 5 years and that it was an honor to have the IPPS – SRNA come to Gainesville, Florida, and to meet and tour local nurseries. He thanked his local site committee for all of their help: Bill Reese, Chris Reese, David Reese, Jim Salmon, Carl Sherman, Mike Marshall, Bob Byrnes, Dr. Tom Yeager, and Hugh Gramling. He also thanked the University of Florida and the Department of Environmental Horticulture program. He then introduced Dr. Joe Joyce, Executive Associate Vice-President of IFAS of the University of Florida. Joyce welcomed the IPPS members and gave an overview of the University of Florida and the importance of the \$9.1 billion Florida green industry.

PROGRAM CHAIR BOB SMART

Chairman Smart welcomed all members and guests. He thanked the membership for the opportunity to serve them and then reviewed the scheduled program. The Question Box was scheduled for Tuesday evening to be co-chaired by Dr. Tom Yaeger and Kevin Gantt. He thanked Dr. Glen Fain for his audio and video efforts. Smart then introduced Buster Corley to moderate the 1st session.